Indiegogo Campaign is a GO!

Holy Sheet!

The Indiegogo Campaign is live! Spread the word!

Youtube Link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDyXSCd2Lp0&feature=plcp

Indiegogo Link: http://www.indiegogo.com/grimoireforever?c=home

About grimdarkly

Name's Cooper. I'm an Advertising student, and I'm also a devout Christian that despises dishonesty. See the cognitive dissonance? I enjoy placing words in interesting formations. If not an advertising copywriter, I am certain I will find another word-based career. I enjoy playing DOTA 2, doing Christian stuff, not exercising, and designing adventures for my friends as a D&D Dungeon Master. Evidently, I'm also good at quickly coming up with "raps". Quality of said raps is debatable.

Posted on October 14, 2012, in Announcements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I really hope Cleve finishes Grim. I’d love it try it. But I worry about this plan. In my experience there are three common causes for repeatedly missed target dates in software development:

    1) ‘Feature creep’, where new enhancements and features keep being added late in the development cycle
    2) Preference to make things ‘perfect’ at any cost
    3) Distaste for the non-programming tasks at the end of the cycle: testing, build, packaging, user documentation

    A very believable plan might be:
    * Plan to ship December 1, 2012
    * All features and implementation complete. Will defer all remaining enhancements to sequel.
    * Will complete final testing and resolve any new bugs between now and Dec 1.

    The stated plan is:
    * Plan to ship May, 2013
    * “Guarantee that the completed product will be artistically perfect”
    * Long list of enhancements both with and without funding

    Will keep my fingers crossed.

  2. You guys need one major change. There’s has to be beta test access as part of the indiegogo campaign if you’re doing flexible funding – I’d say early access at the $100 level (Feb) and then March/April access for the sub-$100 level. I’m happy to contribute to this game but only if beta is guarenteed.

    There is simply too many reported bugs and you have major changes coming to the game between now and next May.

  3. Hi again son of Cleve. Had a couple questions, I know people want to donate but getting them to is like squeezing water out of a rock. Most think it is one big scam. It is a pain trying to explain it to them. Maybe you or Cleve could put a FAQ on the pledge about the payment issues you ran into for kickstarter and why you did indiegogo as well as the reason you went for flexible funding and all that. It might help calm some fence sitters down.

    My other question is could you maybe add a 2nd game to the higher tiers. I know some people who want to play one version and keep one as a collectors item since these will be the only physical copies. Don’t need to go crazy like those other KS and do 5-10 copies I think 2 will be just fine. Some superfans also want autographs and the like so would Cleve be willing to do any of that. Whether he wants to believe it or not, he is a bit of a legend.

    Well thanks again and will check back to see the answers.

  4. What are you guys going to do about shipping costs. If you don’t pass it on to us, it could eat a big chunk out of what you earn for the game, especially if you don’t hit your target and have to pay the 9% fee. Like to know in advance so I don’t overpledge and need more later.

    • We looked into it, and it isn’t that expensive to ship most of that stuff. Don’t worry about our profits (How considerate of you.) As for the fee on your end, the general shipping cost is included in what you paid. Obviously though, if you live like a million miles away in, like, Ugoslavia, you will have to pay the difference upon receiving your package.

  5. I laid down my $25.

    Cleve being the procrastinator that he is, I’m surprised that you’ve tied yourselves to so much physical stuff in the rewards tiers. You’re expecting him to have finished the game AND sorted out all the DVDs/manuals/maps/etc on time? Even organised and professional Kickstarters with a team of people have struggled with this.

    Still, I live in hope.

Comment and Discuss!

