Grimoire Update

I thought I would just share my thoughts on the current state of the game, and how close it is to completion, etc.

The game is running smoother than it ever has before, though, I suppose that it to be expected in later builds of the game.

The combat is extremely smooth. I have found myself, previously unenthused at the idea of doing another Grimoire walkthrough/beta test, having a tremendous amount of fun. The combat in Grimoire, admittedly, really needed a lot of work. It wasn’t fun. Many of the bugs, glitches and imbalances that plagued early builds of the game have now¬†been eradicated. Combat is often quick, rewarding, but also challenging. Really, I can’t stress enough how good the combat is in the most recent build. Little tweaks to enemy armour classes and such can actually have a huge impact on the atmosphere and enjoyment level of the game. I now find myself more immersed and not perturbed by the idea of “Wandering Monsters: On”.

Furthermore, regarding game crashes, I have only experienced three crashes through out my entire playthrough, and these crashes were in an older build of the super demo. Considering the length and complexity of Grimoire, I find this crash to playtime ratio to be very acceptable.

I also no longer experience in-game lag or other visual issues.

I have found a few bugs, and most of these are easily remedied. These are little things, like enemies not landing their special attacks, and a small glitch that occurs when merging items sometimes, which results in a lower quantity than was started with.

Most of the major bugs that need to be fixed are present in the later portions of the game. I have not encountered any enormous bugs in the super demo so far.

Most bugs are to do with incorrect logic. Things like an NPC not responding as they should, broken scenarios, etc.

The current build of the game is looking really good. At the state it’s in, I personally think it is good enough to be released. It at least looks better than half the games on Steam Greenlight.

I could be wrong, there could be some big bugs I’m not aware of, but from what I can see, things are looking really fantastic. If Cleve wasn’t such a perfectionist, I’m sure it would be out by now.

We thank you for your continued patience and support of Grimoire.

Have a nice day.

-Cooper

About grimdarkly

Not much I can say about myself. I am fond of reading and writing, and I aspire to one day be a famous author. I've been writing a book for the past year and a half. It currently is 130 pages long and is still in the draft phase. It's a three-part epic set over thousands of years, with commentaries on freedom and human nature. Much like my father, Cleve Blakemore, I am a perfectionist, so I hope that doesn't stop me from finishing it. I am fascinated by watches, women and intense philosophical discussion (though, I find many people lack the cognitive stamina to have long, serious conversations about abstract subjects). Often times, for the sake of other people, I have to feign stupidity. Many of them become perturbed if I speak with them like I speak with myself. I am a devout Christian and I believe that the teachings of Christ are a nutritious broth that has everything a human being needs: a sense of community, a code of ethics and best of all, the feeling that there is more to life than just living and dying, that there is life after death and there is hope. Jesus Christ is truly chicken soup for the soul.

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Announcements, Game Information and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Soon to be 18 years in the making….and still not finished.

  2. I can’t believe I missed the sponsorship of this. I’m going to put this game recommendation in my will, in case I die before it comes out.

    Seriously – looking through the videos and the galleries…it might just be the first Wonder of the Video Game World.

    Cheers!

  3. Hi!

    I only just found out about this game a few weeks ago. It looks like my cup of tea for sure. What’s not clear is where/how the game may be purchased once its finished. People who got in on the IndieGogo campaign are obviously set to go. What about the rest of us? Direct sales through http://goldeneragames.com ?

    Anyway, I know it’s not quite released yet, so I’m just excited and curious. Thanks!

    -AnRPGFan

  4. Thank you for the update!

Comment and Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

