Grimoire’s Release to be Delayed

Cleve still trying to get tool-tips running. Expect the super-demo soon to sate your hungers.

 

Neanderthals hard at work here.

Neanderthals hard at work here.

About grimdarkly

Not much I can say about myself. I am fond of reading and writing, and I aspire to one day be a famous author. I've been writing a book for the past year and a half. It currently is 130 pages long and is still in the draft phase. It's a three-part epic set over thousands of years, with commentaries on freedom and human nature. Much like my father, Cleve Blakemore, I am a perfectionist, so I hope that doesn't stop me from finishing it. I am fascinated by watches, women and intense philosophical discussion (though, I find many people lack the cognitive stamina to have long, serious conversations about abstract subjects). Often times, for the sake of other people, I have to feign stupidity. Many of them become perturbed if I speak with them like I speak with myself. I am a devout Christian and I believe that the teachings of Christ are a nutritious broth that has everything a human being needs: a sense of community, a code of ethics and best of all, the feeling that there is more to life than just living and dying, that there is life after death and there is hope. Jesus Christ is truly chicken soup for the soul.

Posted on June 1, 2013, in Announcements and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Grim,
    Cleve had stated that you would be contacting the supporters soon in order to sent the super demo links. Has this started yet?

  2. Irondoom demonsquid

    Hey hey I’m excited I tried to give Cleve my hard earned monies in indiegogo but now I will give them whenever it is released. INCLINE!

  3. Don’t rush. Make sure you have a stable quality product. We’ve waited this long, a little more time’s not going to make the sky fall now.

  4. I don’t think this game will be released anytime soon, lol. There’s prob. no game.
    I think the first campaign was to get enough money to stitch up together just a demo to try to prove it was not a scam, the 2nd one was to get more money to either run away or repeat the process – release a slightly more complete demo, and ask for MORE money… eventually they will get the money and vanish!

    • You realize… that I am the 17 year old son of the guy making Grimoire, right?

      And I started this blog more than a year before the crowd-funding campaign?

      So, in order to have done this as a scam, we would have had to:

      1. Pre-emptively plan the scam more than a year in advance.

      2. Obtain thousands of dollars worth of art and music assets.

      3. Make the KingStep engine, and the demo, purely for scam purposes.

      4. Spend countless hours promoting and advertising the game on forums, websites, etc.

      5. Vanish. (What does that mean?)

      Do you really think anyone has that much free time?

      The game is late. We know.

      But itz coming.

  5. I played the new “Works on windows!” demo for a while, enjoyed it, then tried to save my game, and locked up my system. When I relaunched, my save game was gone, and I found a C++ Debug dialog on the screen. If you’d like me to send you a screenshot for debugging purposes, let me know.

  6. Maybe you can offer a beta release to those who’ve pledged in order to let them help check it for ballance isuues or bugs or what not?
    This will at least give them something untill the finished product is ready and also allow for more thorough play testing.

    • We have located the majority of the bugs. Now Cleve just needs to eradicate them. All a beta would serve to do now is make people bored with the game when it comes out.

      You can expect a super-demo soon for pledgers though, with more than double the content of the first demo. Cleve says he’s been working hard to implement tooltips.

  7. Grimoire’s release delayed? Wow! Upcoming, I expect reports that water is wet, and details on exactly what bears do in the woods. Also, the Pope: Catholic or not?

Comment and Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

