Shams Upgrades Grimoire To Look Like Crysis

I’m still bedazzled by what I just saw!

Quite honestly, the most incredible feat of programming I’ve ever seen! Grimoire already had fantastic Art assets, now the game looks like Grimrock! (Arguably, even better!)!!!!

Alright, now that I’ve calmed down a bit, let me start from the beginning.

As we promised, we’ve been hard at work at updating the resolution for Grimoire. The game does look a bit better with a larger screen size and viewport, but it’s not a mind-blowing change.

But Shams, who speaks with actions, not words, has shown his technical prowess by upgrading the rendering of the environment.

Wow!

Just Wow!

I’m not sure exactly what he did, as I have minimal programming experience (Does SmallBasic count?), but whatever he did, he made the game look amazing. I’m talking Xbox popamole graphics here. Makes Heavy Rain look like Pac-man.

Anyone who has ever complained about any aspect of Grimoire’s visuals is about to choke on their sandwich.

I’m sure Cleve will put up footage of the upgrades soon. It will blow you away when you see it.

About grimdarkly

Not much I can say about myself. I am fond of reading and writing, and I aspire to one day be a famous author. I've been writing a book for the past year and a half. It currently is 130 pages long and is still in the draft phase. It's a three-part epic set over thousands of years, with commentaries on freedom and human nature. Much like my father, Cleve Blakemore, I am a perfectionist, so I hope that doesn't stop me from finishing it. I am fascinated by watches, women and intense philosophical discussion (though, I find many people lack the cognitive stamina to have long, serious conversations about abstract subjects). Often times, for the sake of other people, I have to feign stupidity. Many of them become perturbed if I speak with them like I speak with myself. I am a devout Christian and I believe that the teachings of Christ are a nutritious broth that has everything a human being needs: a sense of community, a code of ethics and best of all, the feeling that there is more to life than just living and dying, that there is life after death and there is hope. Jesus Christ is truly chicken soup for the soul.

Posted on October 21, 2012, in Announcements and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I had a question for Cleve if it could be passed on to him. He said he was in possession of some pretty nasty utilities that could be used if need be. Has he ever thought of putting some Doomsday code into the retail version of Grimoire to fry any data accessed by getting around the DRM. In this age where people are sucking up to pirates that steal their work, I know Cleve’s moral compass will always point due north and he should give anyone who tries to steal his work a taste of Neanderthal justice.

  2. After reading Cleve’s interview on the RPG codex where he says modern game design is drivel… How does he feel about Grimrock?

    I’ve only just been introduced to the concept of the man so perhaps this has already been answered somewhere. If so, I offer my apologies.

    Also, I just wanted to say that the graphics and sprite work I’ve seen of Grimoire so far has been the strongest selling point for me. It is truly marvelous. :D

    • We’ve talked about this once or twice.

      We both agree that although Grimrock is visually stunning, it really isn’t a true dungeon crawler. The combat is real-time, the puzzles aren’t that complex and NPC Interaction is practically Null.

      I see Grimoire as a game where although the art assets are beautiful, they really just act as a vessel for the gameplay, where there is typically multiple solutions to every problem and players can progress through the game anyway they choose.

      This is one of the reasons that balancing is so important in a game like Grimoire. We want people to have as much fun playing a thamaturge as a necromancer, and to do that, we need to make sure they are both viable character classes.

  3. Warren Donchaneedtoknow

    What strikes me in the noggin’ as funny is the naysayers will buy this game. Hence my loudly proclaimed Neanderthal-like Hah!

  4. Cleve should really do something for GameBanshee. Today I saw like the 4th article on the site. Also someone there gave 100 bucks to your pledge and they have always been pretty positive and respectful which is pretty rare for most of these sites. Here was the latest they put.

    http://www.gamebanshee.com/news/109903-grimoire-indiegogo-campaign-updates-1-and-2-5000-and-counting.html

    You probably got a lot of stuff to do in your normal life but you should post more on here. We want to hear from Son of Cleve as well.

  5. I don’t believe the new screen resolution is the change that GrimDarkly is talking about. I think there is something else still in the works.

  6. You’ve clearly inherited Cleve’s propensity for hyperbole :)

Comment and Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

